Chamber Music Palisades Season Finale Is May 10


The world premiere of “Moonlight Trio,” an excerpt from a new opera, So Donia Speaks, by award-winning composer Julia Adolphe and librettist Nahal Navidar will be the centerpiece of the season finale program for Chamber Music Palisades.

The concert will begin at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, May 10, at St. Matthew’s Church. Admission is $30 at the door.

The program will open with the Sonata in D Major for flute and piano by Johann Nepomuk Hummel, followed by the excerpt from So Donia Speaks, and will close with the classic Trio in B Major by Johannes Brahms.

Guest artists joining CMP Co-Artistic Directors flutist Susan Greenberg and pianist Delores Stevens will be violinist Ida Levin, cellists Timothy Loo and David Garrett, soprano Sousan Jarjour and mezzo-sopranos Victoria Fox and Jessica Mirshak.

This season, a woman composer has been featured at each concert. The commissioning of Julia Adolphe’s “operatic” trio completes a series that included works by Lili Boulanger, Louise Farranc and Amy Beach.

Adolphe won the 2016 Lincoln Center Emerging Artist Award and the 2015 Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. The New York Philharmonic premiered her orchestral work Dark Sand, Sifting Light and has commissioned her to write a viola concerto for the Philharmonic’s principal viola Cynthia Phelps.

In a tradition that continued for every CMP concert since its 1997 inception, the KUSC on-air celebrity Alan Chapman will provide entertaining and educational introductions to each work.

Call (310) 463-4388 or visit:<>
23-Adolphe, JuliaComposer Julia Adolphe
23-Navidar, NahalLibrettist Nahal Navidar

St. Matthew’s Concert To Feature Premieres
“Music for the Great Outdoors” is the theme of the St. Matthew’s Music Guild concert at 8 p.m. this Friday, May 6, at St. Matthew’s Church, 1031 Bienveneda Ave.

On the program is Brahms’s Serenade No. 1 in D major for small orchestra and Elgar’s youthful String Serenade in C.

The concert will also feature two world premieres: John O’Reilly’s Chautauqua West and Matthew Brown’s Afterimage, commissioned by the Music Guild with support from the Los Angeles County Arts Commission.

Palisadian John O’Reilly is one of America’s most published composers. He grew up in upstate New York, where he attended the Crane School of Music at SUNY Potsdam.

O’Reilly and his wife Judy have been interested in Chautauqua, an adult education movement that was prominent in the U.S. during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Chautauqua West is a three-movement work scored for 15 winds and two percussionists. It traces the Chautauqua movement from its New York roots to its 1922 western expansion that ended in Pacific Palisades.

Matthew Brown was born in Southern California and studied at USC with Donald Crockett, Morten Lauridsen and Randy Newman. He received the Salter Endowed Music Award in 2003. His music has been performed by the LA Master Chorale, LA Chamber Singers, Gay Men’s Chorus of Los Angeles and Antioch Chamber Ensemble.

Afterimage was commissioned by the Music Guild in 2015 and is the latest in a series of works that explore the intersection between Western classical music and non-Western musical styles.

Admission at the door is $35. Visit:<> or call (310) 573-7421.

in Uncategorized
Related Posts
Leave a Reply